Reflection on International Media

If I was asked what I knew about International media at the start of the semester, I would probably just blurt out a couple of generic answers such as foreign movies and global news channels. BCM111 has completely broadened my knowledge on what media in an international landscape really means. I did not know that the term “Globalisation” or the notion of something being “globalised” was more relevant then ever. We are living in a society that is constantly chopping and changing its ways due to allowing of cross-border integration. Most people are oblivious to this in society, but when you divulge deeper  into this issue you will discover many patterns and impacts that still continue to surprise me.

I have challenged myself to re-evaluate the term Globalisation. Do we REALLY live in a globalised world, or is it just the western world taking over? I wish in our globalised world today that hybridity was prevalent, as a hybrid world would be celebrating multiple unique and individual cultures coming together to form one, but sadly I personally think this is definitely not the case. Through this semester in International Media, I have come to the realisation that the western world is living up to its “bully stereotype” and forcing unique and individual cultures to become more like themselves aka cultural imperialism at its finest.

Apart from my opinion on our so-called “globalised world”, I have been linking some key course topics to my theories I think about day to day. Such as why do International people think Australians are so racist? Even though I’m not that surprised, I realised it is most likely due to the Australian media we put forward to the world, whether it is our sense of humor or the ways we express ourselves to internationals. This will not change as we are our own culture, so English critics slamming shows such as Summer Heights High need to take a chill pill and realise that the whole world just cannot be as “hilarious” as themselves.

Us as an inevitably globalised world need to take a deep breath and embrace this change and should use international media outlets as a means to INFLUENCE and not CHANGE. “Think global, act local”.

 

Leave a Reply

